<< Back




Yugoslavia vs. Spain
- the best match

London, July 3 (Tanjug) - The best match of recently finished European football championship was the match between Yugoslavia and Spain, claims today the London Daily Mail in its poll conducted among the British football journalists.

That was the best football ever seen on European football fields, stresses the London daily.

A group of four matches, among which the match between Yugoslavia and Slovenia, is on the second place.

Savo Milosevic - the best scorer at EURO 2000

Having scored five goals, Yugoslav player Savo Milosevic has become the best scorer of the 11th European Championship. Dutch player Patrick Kluivert scored the same number of goals, but has played one match more than the Yugoslav player.

5 - Savo Milosevic (Yugoslavia), Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands)

4 - Nuno Gomez (Portugal)

3 - Sergio Conceicao (Portugal), Zlatko Zahovic (Slovenia), Thierry Henry (France)

2 - Zinedine Zidane (France), Youri Djorkaeff (France), Sylvain Wiltord (France), David Trezeguet (France), Filippo Inzaghi (Italy), Francesco Totti (Italy), Frank De Boer (Netherlands), Marc Overmars (Netherlands), Boudewijn Zenden (Netherlands), Vladimir Smicer (Czech Republic) Alan Shearer (England), Alfonso (Spain), Gaizka Mendieta (Spain), Hakan Sukur (Turkey), David Trezeguet (France)

1 - Laurent Blanc (France), Christophe Dugarry (France), Antonio Conte (Italy), Stefano Fiore (Italy), Luigi Di Biagio (Italy), Alessandro Del Piero (Italy), Marco Delvecchio (Italy), Ronald De Boer (Netherlands), Luis Figo (Portugal), Joao Pinto (Portugal), Costinha (Portugal), Bart Goor (Belgium), Emile Mpenza (Belgium), Karel Poborsky (Czech Republic), Paul Scholes (England), Steve McManaman (England), Michael Owen (England), Mehmet Scholl (Germany), Steffen Iversen (Norway), Cristian Chivu (Romania), Dorinel Munteanu (Romania), Ioan Ganea (Romania), Viorel Moldovan (Romania), Miran Pavlin (Slovenia), Raul (Spain), Joseba Etxeberria (Spain), Pedro Munitis (Spain), Johan Mjallby (Sweden), Henrik Larsson (Sweden), Okan Buruk (Turkey), Ljubinko Drulovic (Yugoslavia), Dejan Govedarica (Yugoslavia), Slobodan Komljenovic (Yugoslavia).

Own goal: Dejan Govedarica (Yugoslavia).

Euro 2000 - Red and yellow cards

Patrik Andersson (Sweden), Radoslav Latal (Czech Republic), Sinisa Mihajlovic (Yugoslavia), Mateja Kezman (Yugoslavia), Filip De Wilde (Belgium), Slavisa Jokanovic (Yugoslavia), Alpay Ozalan (Turkey), Gheorghe Hagi (Romania), Nuno Gomes (Portugal) and Gianluca Zambrotta (Italy)

Yellow cards, from quarter-finals stage:
2 - Joao Pinto (Portugal), Luigi Di Biagio (Italy)

1 - Okan Buruk (Turkey), Hakan Unsal (Turkey), Ogun Temizkanoglu (Turkey), Fernando Couto (Portugal), Rui Costa (Portugal), Costinha (Portugal), Paulo Sousa (Portugal), Jose Vidigal (Portugal), Luis Figo (Portugal), Jorge Costa (Portugal), Dimas (Portugal), Demetrio Albertini (Italy), Mark Iuliano (Italy), Francesco Toldo (Italy), Paolo Maldini (Italy), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy), Francesco Totti (Italy), Paul Bosvelt (Netherlands), Boudewijn Zenden (Netherlands), Edgar Davids (Netherlands), Giovanni van Bronckhorst (Netherlands), Jaap Stam (Netherlands), Didier Deschamps (France), Patrick Viera (France), Marcel Desailly (France), Lilian Thuram (France), Alfonso (Spain), Josep Guardiola (Spain), Michel Salgado (Spain), Paco (Spain)

Note: Yellow cards from the group stage were officially erased once quarter-finals started.

Euro 2000 - Reuters team

Francesco Toldo (Italy); Lilian Thuram (France), Fabio Cannavaro (Italy), Alessandro Nesta (Italy), Paolo Maldini (Italy); Luis Figo (Portugal), Patrick Vieira (France), Zinedine Zidane (France), Edgar Davids (Netherlands); Patrick Kluivert (Netherlands), Thierry Henry (France).

Substitutes: Fabien Barthez (France), Marcel Desailly (France), Jaap Stam (Netherlands), Rui Costa (Portugal), Pavel Nedved (Czech Republic)

Did you know that...

  • Being defeated by the Netherlands 1-6 in the quarterfinals of this year's European Championship, the Yugoslav national football team has become the first team to receive 6 goals in the European Championship's match.

  • At this year's European Championship, the Yugoslav national football team has set an inglorious record which is unlikely to be beaten in near future. It has become the first national team to receive as much as 13 goals in a final tournament of the European Championship.

  • The most effective European Championship was held in Yugoslavia in 1976. As much as 19 goals have been scored in four matches, or 4,75 goals a match.

  • Michael Laudrup refused to play for Denmark at the European Championship held in Sweden in 1992 because the Danish national team was subsequently included into the competition as the replacement for the Yugoslav national team which was excluded from the Championship being the victim of the U.N. sanctions.

The most effective European Championships matches

YUGOSLAVIA - France 5-4 (1960)
Spain - YUGOSLAVIA 4-3 (2000)
Netherlands - YUGOSLAVIA 6-1 (2000)
YUGOSLAVIA - Slovenia 3-3 (2000)
Western Germany - YUGOSLAVIA 4-2 (1976)
Russia - Czech Republic 3-3 (1996)
Denmark - YUGOSLAVIA 5-0 (1984)
France - Belgium 5-0 (1984)
England - Netherlands 4-1 (1996)
Germany - Sweden 3-2 (1992)

Results of European Championship finals

10 July 1960 Paris: Soviet Union 2 Yugoslavia 1 (after extra time)
21 June 1964 Madrid: Spain 2 Soviet Union 1
8 June 1968 Rome: Italy 1 Yugoslavia 1 (after extra time)
10 June 1968 Rome: Italy 2 Yugoslavia 0 (replay)
18 June 1972 Brussels: West Germany 3 Soviet Union 0
20 June 1976 Belgrade: Czechoslovakia 2 West Germany 2 (Czechoslovakia won 5-3 on penalties after extra time)
22 June 1980 Rome: West Germany 2 Belgium 1
27 June 1984 Paris: France 2 Spain 0
25 June 1988 Munich: Netherlands 2 Soviet Union 0
26 June 1992 Gothenburg: Denmark 2 Germany 0
30 June 1996 London: Germany 2 Czech Republic 1 (golden goal winner in extra time)
2 July 2000 Rotterdam: France 2 Italy 1 (golden goal winner in extra time)

Copyright © 2004 Office of Media Relations
Email: ooc@srbija.sr.gov.yu